Service outage: November 28, 2015 between 12:00 and 18:00 p.m. (EST)

Please note that the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency's sites and applications won't be available for consultation on Saturday, November 28, 2015 between 12:00 and 18:00 p.m. (EST) due to maintenance work.

Terms and conditions

Copyright/Permission to Reproduce

Materials on this website have been produced and/or compiled by the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency (the Agency) for the purpose of providing Canadians with direct access to information about the programs and services offered by the Government of Canada.

Most of the material on this site is covered by the Copyright Act, by Canadian laws, policies, regulations and by international agreements. Such copyright serves to identify the information source and, in specific instances, to prohibit reproduction of materials without written permission.

Non-commercial Reproduction

Information on this website has been posted with the intent that it be readily available for personal or public non-commercial use and may be reproduced, in part or in whole, and by any means, without charge or further permission, unless otherwise specified.

Users are required to:

  • Exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced;
  • Indicate both the complete title of the materials reproduced, as well as the author organization; and
  • Indicate that the reproduction is a copy of an official work that is published by the Government of Canada and that the reproduction has not been produced in affiliation with, or with the endorsement of the Government of Canada.

Unless otherwise specified, this authorization is also applicable to all published information regardless of its format.

Commercial Reproduction

Unless otherwise specified, you may not reproduce materials on this site, in whole or in part, for the purposes of commercial redistribution without prior written permission from the author department. To obtain permission to reproduce material from this website where the Agency is the author, write to:

Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H3
Fax: 613-957-0946

Third-party Materials

Some of the materials and graphical elements found on Government of Canada websites are subject to copyrights held by other organizations. This is particularly true of sites that are jointly operated by a Government of Canada institution and an external organization, as part of a collaborative agreement. In such cases, some restrictions on the reproduction of materials or graphical elements may apply; it may be necessary to seek permission from the author or copyright holder prior to reproduction. To obtain information concerning copyright ownership and restrictions on reproduction on this site, please contact:

Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H3
Fax: 613-957-0946

Privacy Statement

The Government of Canada and the Agency are committed to respecting the personal privacy of individuals who visit our websites. The information below summarizes our privacy policy and practices:

  • The Government of Canada does not automatically gather any personal information from you, such as your name, phone number, email or street address during your visit to its websites. This information is only obtained if you supply it voluntarily, usually through contacting us via email, or registering in a secure portion of the site.
  • All personal information you do provide is protected under the federal Privacy Act. This means that, at the point of collection, you will be informed that your personal information is being collected, the purpose for which it is being collected and that you have a right of access to the information.
  • The Agency uses per-session cookies. The per-session cookies do not collect personal information about you. Per-session cookies are used to store information within a session (or visit to our website). These cookies are deposited on a user's computer only while the user is visiting the site and are deleted when the user closes the session. Here is the list of information that we are collecting by using per-session cookies:
    • The name of your Internet service provider, its IP address, and the name of your service provider's server
    • The Agency makes no attempt to link these addresses with the identity of individuals visiting the Agency website
    • The length of each visit
    • The number of requests per visit
    • Your type of operating system (Windows, MacIntosh, Unix, etc.)
    • Your browser type (Netscape, Internet Explorer, etc.)
    By keeping this data, the Agency's website administrators can fine-tune the sites based on user-activity trends.
  • Questions or comments regarding this policy, or the administration of the Privacy Act within the Agency should contact our Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator by phone 1-866-582-1884 or email: If you are not satisfied that we have adequately respected your privacy, you may wish to contact the Office of the Privacy Commissioner by phone: 1-800-282-1376 or by email:
  • In cases where services are provided by organizations outside of the Government of Canada, such as social media platforms or mobile applications, IP addresses may be recorded by the Web server of the third-party service provider.

Official Languages

The Agency respects the Official Languages Act and relevant Treasury Board policies, and is committed to ensuring all information on this site is available in both French and English. However, users should be aware that some information from external sources is available only in the language in which it was provided.

Hyperlinking from the Agency Website

Links to websites not under the control of the Agency are provided solely for the convenience of users. The Agency is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or the reliability of the content of those websites. The Agency does not offer any guarantee in that regard and is not responsible for the information found through these links, nor does it endorse the sites and their content.

Users should be aware that information offered by non-Government of Canada websites that are not subject to the Official Languages Act and to which the Agency links to, may be available only in the language(s) used by the websites in question.

Interacting with Us on Social Media

This notice has been written to explain how the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency interacts with the public on social media platforms.

Content and Frequency

We use our social media accounts as an alternative method of sharing the content posted on our website and interacting with our stakeholders. By following our social media accounts (by “following,” “liking” or “subscribing”), you can expect to see information about the programs and services we provide.

We understand that the Web is a 24/7 medium, and your comments are welcome at any time. You should expect to see new content posted Monday to Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST/EDT. Comments submitted after hours or on weekends will be read as soon as possible within normal business hours.

Because the servers of social media platforms are managed by a third party, our social media accounts are subject to downtime that may be out of our control. As such, we accept no responsibility for platforms becoming unresponsive or unavailable.

Links to Other Websites and Ads

Our social media accounts may post or display links or ads for websites that are not under our control. These links are provided solely for the convenience of users. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the information found through these links or ads, nor does it endorse the sites or their content.

Following, “Favouriting” and Subscribing

Our decision to “follow,” “favourite” or “subscribe” to another social media account does not imply an endorsement of that account, channel, page or site, and neither does sharing (re-tweeting, reposting or linking to) content from another user.

Comments and Interaction

We will read comments and participate in discussions when appropriate. We ask that your comments be relevant and respectful. We reserve the right to delete comments that violate this notice, and the user may be blocked and reported to prevent further inappropriate comments.

We cannot engage in issues of party politics or answer questions that break the rules of this notice.

We reserve the right to edit or remove comments that:

  • Contain personal information;
  • Are contrary to the principles of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms;
  • Express racist, hateful, sexist, homophobic, slanderous, insulting or life-threatening messages;
  • Put forward serious, unproven or inaccurate accusations against individuals or organizations;
  • Are aggressive, coarse, violent, obscene or pornographic;
  • Are offensive, rude or abusive to an individual or an organization;
  • Are not sent by the author or are put forward for advertising purposes;
  • Encourage illegal activity;
  • Contain announcements from labour or partisan organizations;
  • Are written in a language other than English or French;
  • Are unintelligible or irrelevant;
  • Are repetitive or spam; and
  • Do not, in our opinion, add to the normal flow of the discussion.

In short, please be respectful and make sure that your comments are relevant to where they are posted. The views of users commenting on our social media accounts do not necessarily represent the views of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency or the Government of Canada.

Accessibility of Social Media Platforms

Social media platforms are third-party service providers and are not bound by Government of Canada standards for Web accessibility.

If you have difficulty accessing content on our social media accounts, please contact us and we will try to solve the problem or provide you with the information in a different format.


Information that we post is subject to the Copyright Act.


Our social media accounts are not Government of Canada websites and represent only our presence on third-party service providers.

For more information, please refer to our Privacy Notice regarding third-party social media.

Official Languages

Many social media platforms have multiple language options and provide instructions on how to set your preferences. The Government of Canada respects the Official Languages Act and is committed to ensuring that our information is available in both English and French and that both versions are of equal quality.

We reply to comments in the official language in which they are posted. If we think the response is a question of general public interest, we may respond in both official languages.

We may share links that direct users to sites of organizations or other entities that are not subject to the Official Languages Act and available only in the language(s) in which they are written. When content is available in only one language, we make an effort to provide similar content in the other official language.

Questions and Media Requests

Reporters are asked to send questions to the spokespersons.

Avis

Droits d'auteurs ou de reproduction

Les documents présents sur ce site Web ont été produits ou rassemblés par l'Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale (l'Agence) pour offrir aux Canadiens et Canadiennes un accès direct à l'information sur les programmes et les services offerts par le gouvernement du Canada.

Une bonne partie des documents présents sur ce site sont protégés par la Loi sur le droit d'auteur, par les lois, les politiques et les règlements du Canada et par des accords internationaux. Les droits d'auteur permettent d'identifier la source de l'information et, dans certains cas, d'interdire la copie de documents sans permission écrite.

Copie non commerciale

L'information présentée sur le présent site web a été affichée pour être accessible à des fins personnelles ou publiques, mais non commerciales, et peut être reproduite, en tout ou en partie, et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sans frais ni autre permission, à moins d'avis contraire.

On demande aux utilisateurs :

  • De faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en assurant l'exactitude du matériel reproduit ;
  • D'indiquer le titre complet du matériel reproduit et l'organisation qui en est l'auteur ;
  • D'indiquer que la reproduction est une copie d'un document officiel publié par le gouvernement du Canada et que la reproduction n'a pas été faite en association avec le gouvernement du Canada ni avec l'appui de celui-ci.

À moins d'avis contraire, la présente autorisation s'applique également à toutes les publications, peu importe leur format.

Reproduction commerciale

À moins d'avis contraire, il est interdit de reproduire le contenu de ce site, en totalité ou en partie, à des fins de diffusion commerciale sans avoir obtenu au préalable la permission écrite du ministère qui a produit le contenu. Si vous souhaitez obtenir les droits de reproduction pour les documents de l'Agence contenus sur ce site Web  veuillez écrire à :

Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H3
Télécopieur : 613-957-0946
Adresse électronique : info@acee-ceaa.gc.ca

Documents d'une tierce partie

Certains documents et éléments graphiques présents sur les sites Web du gouvernement du Canada sont assujettis aux droits d'auteur d'autres organisations, en particulier dans le cas de sites exploités conjointement par une institution du gouvernement du Canada et une organisation externe, dans le cadre d'un accord de collaboration. Dans de tels cas, certaines restrictions sur la reproduction d'éléments graphiques ou matériels peuvent s'appliquer. Il peut être nécessaire d'obtenir la permission de l'auteur ou du détenteur des droits d'auteur avant la copie. Pour obtenir de l'information sur les restrictions et la propriété des droits d'auteur concernant la copie sur ce site, veuillez communiquer avec :

Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0H3
Télécopieur : 613-957-0946
Adresse électronique : info@acee-ceaa.gc.ca

Énoncé sur la protection des renseignements personnels du gouvernement de Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada et l'Agence s'engagent à respecter le droit à la vie privée des personnes qui visitent leurs sites Web. L'information présentée ci-dessous décrit les pratiques et la politique en matière de protection des renseignements personnels :

  • Le gouvernement du Canada ne recueille pas automatiquement auprès de vous des renseignements personnels tels que votre nom, votre numéro de téléphone, ou encore votre adresse municipale ou électronique lorsque vous consultez ses sites Web. Nous en prenons connaissance uniquement si vous nous les communiquez volontairement, normalement par courrier électronique ou en vous inscrivant dans une section protégée du site.
  • Tout renseignement personnel que vous lui divulguez est protégé aux termes de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels du Canada. Cela signifie qu'au point de collecte des données personnelles, on vous signifiera que de vos renseignements personnels sont recueillis, on vous dira pourquoi et on vous informera de votre droit d'accéder à ces renseignements.
  • L'Agence utilise des témoins (cookies) de session. Ces témoins ne recueillent aucun renseignement personnel et ont pour but de garder en mémoire de l'information pendant la durée d'une session (ou visite de notre site Web). Ces témoins de session sont placés sur le disque rigide de l'utilisateur seulement pendant que l'utilisateur navigue dans le site. Ils sont détruits dès la fermeture de la session. Voici la liste des renseignements que ces témoins de session recueillent :
    • Le nom de votre fournisseur de services Internet, son adresse IP et le nom de son serveur.
    • L'Agence ne cherche aucunement à établir un lien entre une adresse donnée et une personne qui consultent les sites Web de l'Agence.
    • La durée de chaque visite.
    • Le nombre de requêtes par visite.
    • Le type de système d'exploitation que vous utilisez (Windows, MacIntosh, Unix, etc.)
    • Le type de fureteur que vous utilisez (Netscape, Internet Explorer, etc.)
    La conservation de ces données permet aux administrateurs des sites Web de l'Agence d'harmoniser les sites aux tendances d'utilisation.
  • Pour toute question ou tout commentaire au sujet de cette politique ou au sujet de l'application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels à l'Agence, veuillez communiquer avec la coordonnatrice de l'accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels par téléphone au 1-866-582-1884 ou par courriel à atip-aiprp@acee-ceaa.gc.ca. Si vous estimez que nous n'avons pas suffisamment respecté votre vie privée, vous pouvez communiquer avec le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada par téléphone au 1-800-282-1376 ou par courriel à notification@priv.gc.ca.
  • Lorsque les services sont fournis par des organisations de l’extérieur du gouvernement du Canada, comme les plateformes de médias sociaux ou les applications mobiles, les adresses IP peuvent être enregistrées par un serveur Web du tiers fournisseur de services.

Langues officielles

L'Agence est liée par la Loi sur les langues officielles et les politiques pertinentes du Conseil du Trésor, de sorte que tous les renseignements fournis sur ce site sont offerts en français et en anglais. L'utilisateur doit toutefois être conscient que l'information provenant de sources externes peut être présentée uniquement dans la langue dans laquelle elle a été fournie.

Hyperliens d'un site Web de l'Agence

Les liens vers les sites Web qui ne relèvent pas de l'autorité de l'Agence sont fournis aux utilisateurs uniquement pour des raisons de commodité. L'Agence n'est pas responsable de l'exactitude, de l'actualité ou de la fiabilité du contenu de ces sites Web. L'Agence n'offre aucune garantie à cet égard et n'est pas responsable des renseignements associés à ces liens, pas plus qu'il ne cautionne ces sites ou leur contenu.

Les utilisateurs doivent être au courant de la possibilité que les renseignements offerts dans des sites non soumis à l'autorité du gouvernement du Canada qui ne sont pas soumis à la Loi sur les langues officielles et auxquels l'Agence fournit des liens ne puissent être consultés que dans la langue ou les langues employées dans ces sites.

Échanger avec nous sur les médias sociaux

Cet avis vise à expliquer comment l’Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale dialogue avec le public sur les plates-formes de médias sociaux.

Contenu et fréquence

Nos comptes de médias sociaux sont une autre méthode nous permettant de communiquer le contenu publié sur notre site Web et de dialoguer avec nos partenaires. En suivant nos comptes de médias sociaux (grâce aux fonctions « suivre », « aimer » ou « s’abonner »), vous pouvez vous attendre à obtenir de l’information sur les programmes et services que nous offrons.

Nous sommes conscients que le Web fonctionne 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7 et vos commentaires sont toujours les bienvenus. Vous pouvez vous attendre à voir les nouveaux contenus affichés du lundi au vendredi de 8 h à 17 h (HNE/HAE). Nous répondrons aux commentaires envoyés après les heures de travail ou la fin de semaine le plus tôt possible.

Les serveurs des plateformes de médias sociaux étant gérés par un tiers, nos comptes de médias sociaux sont exposés à des interruptions de service qui peuvent échapper à notre contrôle. Ainsi, nous n’acceptons aucune responsabilité en cas de non-disponibilité des plateformes.

Liens vers d’autres sites Web et des annonces

On peut trouver dans nos comptes de médias sociaux des liens ou des annonces liés à des sites Web échappant à notre contrôle. Ces liens sont fournis uniquement pour accommoder les utilisateurs. Le gouvernement du Canada n’assume aucune responsabilité pour l’information obtenue au moyen de ces liens ou de ces annonces et il n’endosse ni les sites, ni leur contenu.

Suivre, constituer une liste de favoris et s’abonner

Notre décision de « suivre », de « constituer une liste de favoris » ou de « s’abonner » à un autre compte de médias sociaux ne signifie pas que nous approuvons ce compte, cette voie de communication, cette page ou ce site. Le même principe s’applique au partage (retransmission, republication ou lien) d’un contenu provenant d’un autre utilisateur.

Commentaires et échanges

Nous lirons les commentaires et nous participerons aux discussions en temps opportun. Assurez-vous que vos commentaires sont pertinents et respectueux. Nous nous réservons le droit de supprimer les commentaires qui contreviennent à cet avis et les utilisateurs concernés peuvent être bloqués et dénoncés afin de les empêcher d’envoyer d’autres commentaires inappropriés.

Nous ne pouvons pas nous prononcer sur des questions de politique partisane ou répondre à des questions qui contreviennent aux règles énoncées dans cet avis.

Nous nous réservons le droit de modifier ou de supprimer les commentaires qui :

  • contiennent des renseignements personnels;
  • ne respectent pas les principes énoncés dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés;
  • communiquent des messages racistes, haineux, sexistes, homophobes, diffamatoires, méprisants ou constituant une menace de mort;
  • portent des accusations graves, non prouvées ou inexactes à l’endroit de personnes ou d’organisations;
  • sont agressifs, grossiers, violents, obscènes ou pornographiques;
  • sont impolis, grossiers ou désobligeants pour une personne ou une organisation;
  • ne sont pas envoyés par l’auteur ou sont envoyés à des fins publicitaires;
  • encouragent des activités illégales;
  • contiennent des annonces faisant la promotion d’organisations syndicales ou politiques;
  • sont rédigés dans une autre langue que le français ou l’anglais;
  • sont inintelligibles ou non pertinents;
  • sont répétitifs ou constituent des pourriels;
  • ne contribuent pas, selon nous, au déroulement normal de la discussion.

Bref, nous vous demandons d’être respectueux et de vous assurer que vos commentaires sont pertinents en fonction de l’endroit où ils sont affichés. Les opinions exprimées dans les commentaires des utilisateurs de nos comptes de médias sociaux ne représentent pas nécessairement celles de l’Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale ou du gouvernement du Canada.

Accessibilité des plateformes de médias sociaux

Les plateformes de médias sociaux étant gérées par des tiers fournisseurs de services, elles ne sont pas tenues d’observer les normes du gouvernement du Canada en ce qui concerne l’accessibilité du Web.

Si vous éprouvez des difficultés à accéder au contenu de nos comptes de médias sociaux, veuillez communiquer avec nous et nous essaierons de résoudre le problème ou de vous fournir l’information dans un autre format.

Droit d’auteur

L’information que nous publions est assujettie à la Loi sur le droit d’auteur.

Protection des renseignements personnels

Nos comptes de médias sociaux ne sont pas des sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Ils constituent seulement notre présence sur les plateformes des tiers fournisseurs de services.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez notre avis concernant les plateformes de médias sociaux gérées par des tiers.

Langues officielles

Bon nombre de plateformes de médias sociaux offrent plusieurs choix de langues et vous donnent des instructions pour vous aider à établir vos préférences. Le gouvernement du Canada respecte la Loi sur les langues officielles et il est déterminé à prendre les moyens nécessaires pour que son information soit disponible en français et en anglais et pour que la qualité soit égale dans les deux versions.

Nous répondons aux commentaires dans la langue officielle dans laquelle ils sont affichés. Il se peut que nous répondions dans les deux langues officielles lorsque nous estimons que la réponse présente de l’intérêt pour le grand public.

Nous pouvons partager des liens qui dirigent les utilisateurs vers des sites appartenant à des organisations ou autres entités non assujetties à la Loi sur les langues officielles et dont le contenu est offert uniquement dans la langue dans laquelle il a été rédigé. Quand le contenu n’est disponible que dans une langue, nous nous efforçons de fournir un contenu semblable dans l’autre langue officielle

Questions et demandes des médias

Nous demandons aux journalistes d’envoyer leurs questions aux personnes-ressources.