Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Operational Policy Statement

Addressing Cumulative Environmental Effects under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act

Original: March 1999
Update: November 2007

Disclaimer

This guide is for information purposes only. It is not a substitute for the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (the Act) or any of its regulations. In the event of any inconsistency between this guide and the Act or regulations, the Act or regulations, as the case may be, would prevail.

This document provides guidance on environmental assessment under the provisions of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act as amended on July 12, 2010. It has not been updated to reflect changes to the process introduced in the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012. To ensure that you have the appropriate versions of the Act and regulations, please consult the Department of Justice website.

Purpose

This operational policy statement provides clarification to responsible authorities on how cumulative environmental effects should be considered in environmental assessments conducted under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (the Act). It also highlights differences between the Cumulative Effects Assessment Practitioners Guide (the Practitioners Guide), the Act and previous Agency guidance on this subject. Finally, this document updates the Agency's position on the assessment of cumulative environmental effects as described in the 1994 Reference Guide.

Background

Subsection 16(1) of the Act requires every environmental assessment to include consideration of the environmental effects of a project, including "any cumulative environmental effects that are likely to result from the project in combination with other projects or activities that have been or will be carried out."

Responsible authorities must determine appropriate means to satisfy this requirement as part of screenings and comprehensive studies.

Detailed guidance for doing so can be found in the following documents:

The Agency recommends that responsible authorities consult these documents when determining how to take cumulative environmental effects into account as part of the environmental assessment of a project.

Cumulative Effects Practitioners Guide

The Agency sponsored and funded the development of the Practitioners Guide by an independent multi-stakeholder committee. It was the subject of broad consultations among federal authorities, other practitioners and the public prior to being finalized and published.

The Practitioners Guide offers a "best practices" perspective on cumulative environmental effects assessment with emphasis on the assessment of cumulative biophysical effects. It is intended to be broadly applicable across Canadian jurisdictions and to projects of varying size and complexity in different industrial and development sectors.

The Practitioners Guide was not developed solely in reference to the assessment of cumulative environmental effects under the Act. Accordingly, with respect to projects undergoing a federal environmental assessment, responsible authorities should take the following information into account.

Definition of Cumulative Environmental Effects

"Cumulative environmental effects" are defined more narrowly in the Practitioners Guide than under the Act. While the Practitioners Guide is limited to cumulative biophysical effects, assessments of cumulative environmental effects under the Act can extend to the effects of such changes on health and socio-economic conditions, physical and cultural heritage, and other matters described in the definition of "environmental effects" in section 2 of the Act.

Responsible authorities should consider whether these factors, as well as biophysical effects, need to be examined in the cumulative environmental effects assessment.

Identifying Future Projects to Include in Cumulative Environmental Effects Assessment

According to the Practitioners Guide, the selection of future actions to consider in a cumulative environmental effects assessment should reflect "the most likely future scenario." Emphasis is given to projects with greater certainty of occurring; however, hypothetical projects might be discussed on a conceptual basis in some cases.

As stated above, the Act refers to the consideration of "any cumulative environmental effects that are likely to result from the project in combination with other projects or activities that have been or will be carried out." Accordingly, in identifying future projects to include in the cumulative environmental effects assessment, responsible authorities should consider projects that are "certain" and "reasonably foreseeable", as recommended by the Practitioners Guide. The Act does not require consideration of hypothetical projects, but responsible authorities may choose to do so at their discretion. Information concerning the cumulative environmental effects of the project under assessment combined with hypothetical projects may contribute to future environmental planning; however, it should not be the determining factor in the environmental assessment decision under the Act.

The Agency's 1994 Reference Guide advised that the assessment of cumulative environmental effects in relation to future projects should focus exclusively on imminent projects, that is, projects that have been approved but not yet implemented or proposals awaiting planning or other formal approval. It is now recognized that this approach may not always be adequate to understand the implications of development activities on the future well-being of the environment. Also, it may limit the ability of cumulative environmental effects assessment to contribute to informed environmental planning and decision making in the future in the project area.

To better reflect the broad objectives of the Act, the Agency position has evolved to include "certain" and "reasonably foreseeable" projects and, where appropriate those projects that are "hypothetical". This position is also consistent with the "best practices" approach of the Practitioners Guide.

Responsible authorities will need to exercise judgment in distinguishing between projects that are certain, reasonably foreseeable and hypothetical. The following definitions from the Practitioners Guide (p.18 and 19) can assist responsible authorities in this regard. Additional details are found in section 3.2.4.1. of the Practitioners Guide.

Definitions

Certain
The action will proceed or there is a high probability the action will proceed.
Reasonably Foreseeable
The action may proceed, but there is some uncertainty about this conclusion.
Hypothetical
There is considerable uncertainty whether the action will ever proceed. The conjecture is based on currently available information.

Level of Effort

The Practitioners Guide emphasizes approaches and issues associated with the cumulative environmental effects assessment of large projects; however, it also notes that this framework can be scaled down and adapted for use with smaller projects.

The level of effort directed to the assessment of cumulative environmental effects should be appropriate to the nature of the project under assessment, its potential effects and the environmental setting. For example, the practitioner should give particular attention to the selection of future projects to be considered in the cumulative environmental effects assessment where:

  • certain and reasonably foreseeable projects may have an impact on the same valued ecosystem components as the project under assessment;
  • rapid development of the project area is anticipated; or
  • particular environmental sensitivities or risks are involved.

Regional Studies

Amendments to the Act that took effect in October 2003 recognize the use of regional studies as an important tool for the consideration of cumulative environmental effects. The Act now specifies, in section 16.2, that the results of a study of the environmental effects of possible future projects in a region may be taken into account, particularly for the consideration of any cumulative environmental effects that are likely to result from the project in combination with other projects or activities - past, present and future.

The Act encourages federal authorities to cooperate with provinces, land claim bodies or Aboriginal self-governing bodies in regional studies outside the scope of the Act.

Additional Information

For more information on this operational policy statement or on the requirements of the Act, please contact the Agency office in your region.

Additional Agency policies and guidance can be found on the Agency's Web site.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2008.

This publication may be reproduced for personal or internal use without permission, provided the source is fully acknowledged. However, multiple copy reproduction of this publication in whole or in part for purposes of distribution requires the prior written permission from the Minister of Public Works and Government Services Canada, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0S5 or copyright.droitdauteur@pwgsc.gc.ca

Catalogue No.: 978-0-662-47682-5
ISBN: En106-76/2008E

This document has been issued in French under the title: Aborder les effets environnementaux cumulatifs en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale.

This document is also available in Adobe's Portable Document Format [PDF - 48 KB].

Énoncé de politique opérationnelle

Aborder les effets environnementaux cumulatifs en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale

Original : Mars 1999
Mise à jour : Novembre 2007

Avertissement

Ce guide est présenté à des fins d’information seulement. Il ne remplace pas la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (la Loi) ni ses règlements. En cas de manque de conformité entre ce guide et la Loi ou l’un de ses règlements, la Loi ou le règlement, selon le cas, a prépondérance.

Ce document fournit de l'orientation sur l'évaluation environnementale en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale, modifiée le 12 juillet 2010. Le document n'a pas été mis à jour pour tenir compte des modifications apportées au processus dans la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012). Pour vous assurer d’avoir les versions pertinentes à jour de la Loi et de ses règlements, veuillez consulter le site Web du ministère de la Justice.

Objet

Le présent énoncé de politique opérationnelle présente une clarification aux autorités responsables sur l'évaluation des effets environnementaux cumulatifs dans le cadre des évaluations environnementales réalisées conformément à la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (la Loi). Il souligne également les différences entre Évaluation des effets cumulatifs, Guide du praticien (le guide), la Loi et l'orientation déjà fournie par l'Agence à ce sujet. Enfin, le présent document renouvelle la position de l'Agence à l'égard de l'évaluation des effets environnementaux cumulatifs déjà exprimée dans le guide de référence de 1994.

Contexte

Le paragraphe 16(1) de la Loi stipule que chaque évaluation environnementale porte sur les effets environnementaux d'un projet, notamment « les effets cumulatifs que sa réalisation, combinée à l'existence d'autres ouvrages ou à la réalisation d'autres projets ou activités, est susceptible de causer à l'environnement ».

Les autorités responsables doivent établir les moyens appropriés pour respecter cette exigence dans le cadre des examens préalables et des études approfondies.

Les documents suivants comprennent une orientation détaillée sur la façon d'y parvenir :

L'Agence recommande aux autorités responsables de consulter ces documents en vue de déterminer comment tenir compte des effets environnementaux cumulatifs d'un projet dans le cadre de l'évaluation environnementale.

Évaluation des effets cumulatifs - Guide du praticien

L'Agence a confié à un comité multipartite indépendant l'élaboration du Guide du praticien et assuré son financement. Avant de terminer et de publier la version finale du guide, le comité a procédé à de vastes consultations auprès des autorités fédérales, d'autres praticiens et du grand public.

Le Guide du praticien présente les « meilleures pratiques » à l'égard de l'évaluation des effets cumulatifs, mettant l'accent sur l'évaluation des effets biophysiques cumulatifs. Il vise à s'appliquer largement dans toutes les juridictions du Canada et à des projets de taille et de complexité variées dans différents secteurs de l'industrie et du développement.

Le Guide du praticien ne vise pas seulement l'évaluation des effets environnementaux cumulatifs en vertu de la Loi. Ainsi, les autorités responsables doivent tenir compte des points suivants concernant les projets faisant l'objet d'une évaluation environnementale fédérale :

Définition des effets environnementaux cumulatifs

Le Guide du praticien définit de façon plus précise les « effets environnementaux cumulatifs » que ne le fait la Loi. Alors que le guide met l'accent uniquement sur les effets biophysiques cumulatifs, la Loi peut étendre l'évaluation des effets cumulatifs et prévoir l'impact de ces changements sur les conditions sanitaires et socio-économiques, le patrimoine physique et culturel ainsi que d'autres « effets environnementaux » définis à l'article 2 de la Loi.

Au cours de l'évaluation des effets environnementaux cumulatifs, les autorités responsables doivent déterminer si l'évaluation des effets cumulatifs doit tenir compte de ces facteurs au même titre que les effets biophysiques.

Détermination des projets qui feront partie de l'évaluation des effets cumulatifs

Le guide à l'intention des praticiens précise que le choix des actions qui feront l'objet d'un examen au cours de l'évaluation des effets cumulatifs doit respecter « le scénario futur le plus probable ». L'accent est mis sur les projets dont la réalisation est certaine; toutefois, dans certains cas, les projets hypothétiques peuvent faire l'objet d'examen sur une base conceptuelle

Comme il a été énoncé précédemment, la Loi prévoit la prise en compte des « effets cumulatifs que sa réalisation (la réalisation du projet), combinée à l'existence d'autres ouvrages ou à la réalisation d'autres projets ou activités, est susceptible de causer à l'environnement ». Ainsi, les autorités responsables doivent examiner les projets dont la réalisation est « certaine » et « raisonnablement prévisible », tel que le recommande le Guide du praticien, lorsqu'elles déterminent les projets qui feront l'objet d'une évaluation des effets cumulatifs. Bien que la Loi n'exige pas l'évaluation des projets hypothétiques, les autorités responsables peuvent décider, en fonction de leur pouvoir discrétionnaire, d'évaluer ces projets. Les renseignements sur les effets cumulatifs du projet en cours d'évaluation, combinés aux effets des projets hypothétiques, peuvent contribuer à l'aménagement futur de l'environnement. Toutefois, cela ne doit pas déterminer la décision liée à l'évaluation environnementale en vertu de la Loi.

Le guide de référence publié par l'Agence en 1994 précise que l'évaluation des effets cumulatifs des projets futurs devrait porter exclusivement sur les projets imminents, c'est-à-dire des projets approuvés mais pas encore mis en œuvre, ou sur les propositions attendant une planification ou d'autres approbations formelles. Cette approche n'est peut-être pas toujours adéquate pour comprendre les incidences des activités de développement sur le bien-être futur de l'environnement. Elle peut également limiter la capacité des conclusions de l'évaluation des effets cumulatifs de contribuer dans l'avenir à une planification environnementale et à une prise de décision éclairées.

Afin de mieux respecter les grands objectifs de la Loi, la position de l'Agence s'est transformée de façon à inclure les projets dont la réalisation est « certaine » et « raisonnablement prévisible », et, s'il y a lieu, les projets dont la réalisation est « hypothétique ». La position de l'Agence respecte également l'approche relative aux « meilleures pratiques » adoptée par le Guide du praticien.

Les autorités responsables devront faire preuve de jugement pour définir les projets dont la réalisation est certaine, raisonnablement prévisible ou hypothétique. Le Guide du praticien propose aux pages 18 et 19 les définitions suivantes qui peuvent aider les autorités responsables à cet égard. On trouvera de plus amples détails à la section 3.2.4.1 du Guide du praticien.

Définitions

Certaine
L’action se réalisera, ou il existe une forte probabilité qu’elle se réalise.
Raisonnablement prévisible
L’action peut se réaliser, mais il existe un degré d’incertitude quant à sa réalisation.
Hypothétique
Il existe une forte incertitude quant à la réalisation éventuelle de cette action. L’action est hypothétique en fonction de l’information disponible actuellement.

Intensité

Le Guide du praticien met l'accent sur des approches et des préoccupations liées à l'évaluation des effets cumulatifs des projets de grande envergure. Toutefois, il précise que ce cadre peut être réduit ou adapté pour servir à des projets de plus petite taille.

Les efforts consentis pour évaluer les effets environnementaux cumulatifs doivent être appropriés à la nature du projet en cours d'évaluation, à ses effets potentiels et au cadre environnemental. Par exemple, le praticien doit porter une attention particulière au choix des projets qui feront l'objet d'une évaluation des effets cumulatifs :

  • lorsque des projets dont la réalisation est certaine ou raisonnablement prévisible peuvent avoir un impact sur les mêmes composantes valorisées de l'écosystème que le projet en cours d'évaluation;
  • lorsqu'on prévoit un développement rapide du secteur du projet;
  • lorsqu'il existe des sensibilités particulières ou des risques d'ordre environnemental.

Études régionales

Les modifications à la Loi entrées en vigueur en octobre 2003 reconnaissent l'importance des études régionales comme outil d'évaluation des effets environnementaux cumulatifs. La Loi stipule maintenant à l'article 16.2 que les résultats d'une étude des effets environnementaux de projets éventuels dans une région peuvent être pris en compte dans l'évaluation environnementale d'un projet à réaliser dans cette région, notamment dans l'évaluation des effets cumulatifs que la réalisation du projet, combinée à celle d'autres projets ou activités déjà complétés ou à venir, est susceptible de produire sur l'environnement.

La Loi encourage les autorités fédérales à collaborer avec les provinces, les organismes de revendications territoriales ou les organismes autonomes autochtones aux études régionales qui ne sont pas visées par la Loi.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le présent énoncé de politique opérationnelle ou sur les exigences de la Loi, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de l'Agence de votre région.

D'autres documents de politiques et d'orientation sont disponibles sur le site Web de l'Agence.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada, 2008.

Cette publication peut être reproduite sans autorisation pour usage personnel ou à l'interne seulement, à condition que la source en soit clairement indiquée. Toutefois, la reproduction multiple de cette publication en tout ou en partie à des fins commerciales ou de redistribution nécessite l'obtention au préalable d'une autorisation du ministre des Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0S5 oucopyright.droitdauteur@pwgsc.gc.ca

Catalogue No.: 978-0-662-08009-1
ISBN: En106-76/2008F

Le présent document est également disponible en anglais sous le titre : Addressing Cumulative Environmental Effects under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act.

Ce document est également disponible en format d'Adobe Acrobat [PDF - 45 Ko].